Stuff I used to believe, part 1: Wisdom and how to get it

As a Christian in my 30s, I heard my pastor preach one Sunday on how to receive wisdom.

He quoted James 1:5:

But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him. (NASB)

This is the understanding that I took away with me that day:

  • Wisdom means¬†sound judgment and an ability to make good decisions.
  • If I ask God for wisdom, he’ll make me wise. If I don’t ask, I’ll remain unwise.
  • I won’t be able to make myself wise by learning from experience or developing my critical thinking skills. Only God has the power to make me wise.

Imagine my relief at not having to put any work into it. And image how wise I became once I started praying instead of learning.

Posted on February 16, 2014, in Christian doctrine, Personal stories. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

